Dreams/Nightmares

How closely are our dreams linked to reality and can they truly hold valid meaning? 

This thought has weighed heavily on my mind all day after a particularly terrifying experience last night. I would rather not go into detail but suffice to say I awoke in a cold sweat,  on the verge of tears and scared out of my mind of falling asleep again. Waking up for class several hours later, I was still very much rattled.

Instances like this make me hope beyond belief there is no link. After all, past dreams of mine have not come true, and by this I mean the dreams that actually mimic reality, not the giraffe driving a lawnmower episode.  Yet some studies do say there is a link and I have heard of many stories where individuals had premonitions of things to come in their sleep.

Let’s hope the only dreams that do come true are the ones we make consciously and not the occasional nightmare that pervades our minds.

Leave a Reply

